LoveSpirit gathering: celebrating spiritual & sexual diversity

By Shokti Lovestar

Join LoveSpirit on 24th September 2011 – a gathering of 400 people celebrating and exploring lgbtiq spirituality – at the University of London Union, tickets & more information  available on www.lovespirit.org

My awakening to spirituality came at the age of 30 – suddenly I became aware of energy flows and non-physical realities existing around me.  My curiosity became insatiable as I plunged into exploring spiritual wisdom and practice both ancient and modern.  I soon saw certain common threads underlying, and to my eyes uniting, all religious and magical paths – commonalities such as awareness of a unified consciousness giving rise to all existence, the power and centrality of love in this creation, and the crucial relationship we humans have with the natural world.  I saw religious debates over creator gods, moral codes etc as distractions that block us off from these unified points of existence, keep us separated, and of course subjugated, by those who would hold on to the reins of power in this world.

As a gay man I had to think for myself and stand up for myself in order to embrace the joy of my sexuality.  I came to realise aged 30 that I could also do that in relation to the spiritual sphere.  I wanted to learn from all the worlds traditions, I sought wisdom from teachers of all kinds – human and animal and spirit, and I sought to find a synthesis of all faiths that would explain the human condition as we entered the new century.  Being gay has led me to an openness and acceptance of other people’s lifestyles – the same logic applies to their spirituality.  I have met other queer folk who see no conflicts between the various descriptions of divinity the world’s religions offer.  They, and I, believe we are capable to relationship with the divine that transcends differences of creed and tribe.  We perhaps need a new term that encapsulates the nature of divinity and gets away from the loaded terms of the past, freeing us all to explore our souls and spirits without baggage.  From the discoveries I have made for myself I believe a good term might be LOVESPIRIT.

LoveSpirit gathering on 24 September has been developed by a group of gay guys keen to spread knowledge of the wonderful things happening in gay spirituality.  From faerie retreats to touch and intimacy workshops, 5 rhythm dancing to laws of abundance, there will be over 30 workshops on the day – full details on the website.  All facilitators are offering their services for free, with ticket price simply covering costs of putting on the event.  This day will be a demonstration of the powerful love and spirit that queer people of all genders and sexualities bring to the planet and a chance to meet other queers with spiritual interests.  There will be a follow up picnic the next day for the connecting, networking and flirting to continue…..


Leave a Reply

